Testimonials

Personal recommendations are very important to us and they are the best way for you to be sure that the services we offer are professionally applied and highly effective.  


I had never entered the gym and I didn’t even know where to start. The stress in my head had taken a toll on my gut and back in September 2017 I was diagnosed with gluten intolerance. As someone who was always skinny, I knew it was time for me to change things. I contacted a few PTs and Natalie seemed the best for the task at hand. She is patient, checks progress with exercise and food, interested in your overall well-being and friendly. All in all it felt like I was going to see a friend and that itself was motivating. Her focus is always on form and posture thereby ensuring she gets the best out of you every time. I am so much stronger and a much much better eater. For someone who hadn’t put on weight in years, I had muscles in 6 months.
Thanks Natalie, my saviour!
— Astha
Astha.jpeg

I booked a 12 week course with Natalie after returning to work having had two babies in 18 months. Prior to my children being born I was a regular at the gym and had never been over weight but I had not exercised at all during my maternity leave and relied on sugary snacks to keep my energy levels up which meant I was feeling very unfit and out of shape. On top of this I had injuries related to my pregnancies which made me afraid to start working out again in case I made my condition worse. However, I explained everything to Natalie before the classes started and she thoroughly researched the exercises I could and couldn’t do and tailored my work out plan precisely to my abilities and to what was safe for me to do. The nutrition plan she gave me to follow, whilst quite strict, was extremely easy to follow, I never felt hungry and almost immediately after starting it I felt I had much more energy and generally felt more perky! After the 12 weeks I had lost a stone and 10% body fat and from then on I have continued training and following the principles of the nutrition plan, which has now become my normal way of eating, and have lost a further half stone and am now back to the shape I was before my children were born. I would thoroughly recommend Natalie to anyone. Whilst the classes are tough (very tough!!) they really, really work and I could squeeze them into my lunch break (very important when you have children and free time is non existent), and Natalie is so knowledgable and professional and always has a smile!
— Helen

I started to train with Natalie last year just after Easter to lose weight for my wedding as I was struggling to do it by myself. Natalie helped me with a workout routine and a diet plan which is/was working perfectly (when I stick to it). It turned out to be a life changing decision. Training with Natalie not only gave me the weight loss I dreamed of (size 14/16 to size 10) but gave me confidence, a new hobby and I feel a lot better, healthier, have a lot more energy, my migraine attacks stopped completely.

She is dedicated, honest and make you work to your best even if you’re as lazy as me. She is giving her maximum not only on the PT session but on spin and on Mortal Peril as well. Working with her is really addictive and make you want to do more.
— Tunde
 
 

After spending 15 years out of the sport, I started back training for judo after a colleague asked if I was interested in competing in an International Championships. Historically I was a British Squad player in the British Team gaining my black belt when I was 17 years of age. Many years later and to my surprise I won the Gold medal for my weight category. The result has spurred me on and with the help from Natalie in her Mortal Peril class has increased my fitness levels immensely.

Since participating in Mortal Peril, I have competed over the course of the year in several International Championships, narrowly missing the Bronze medal in the World Judo Championships in Amsterdam last September 2015 and gaining 1 Gold, 2 Silvers and a Bronze medal.

After winning the Dutch Masters in May I approached several Companies for sponsorship and was accepted by a Geman Company call ‘DanRho’ who now supply all my kit and training equipment.
I wouldn’t have dreamed of approaching them if I had not increased my fitness levels via Mortal Peril.

Thank you Nats,
— Steve

Steve Preece competing in the Judo World Championships where he won a bronze medal.

Watch a video of Steve competing in the European Judo Championships for a bronze medal placing here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_DfY7VU3QcQ. Timings : 2nd contest  2.34.50, 3rd contest  3.06.12, 4th contest  3.35.41 (Bronze Medal contest)


I have known Natalie and Richard for some time and they have always been on hand to give useful ad hoc advice for my needs.

As a veteran (over 40s) martial artist who competes in tournaments nationally and regionally (and earlier this year participated in two World Championships), robust advice and a solid training programme is essential (especially at my age!).

In particular, I recommend any of Natalie’s personal trainer classes - of particular note is the Mortal Peril class which I began attending a couple of months before the London Taekwondo Opens in July. It is one of the toughest I have done but it gave me a level of fitness, stamina and motivation for the July tournament (which is meant to be one of the more brutal contests hosted in the UK) that won me a gold medal in Sparring and a gold medal in Power Breaking in my category

It gave me a fitness level that I have struggled to achieve on my own and which I have not been able to match since my youth and I am now a top level sparrer in my club who is matched up with the most senior black belts, top club fighters as well as younger, more agile fighters during training sessions.

I thoroughly recommend the Mortal Peril class, Natalie and Richard for their expertise, know-how, commitment and ability to achieve tangible results.
— Sam

Although I considered myself to be relatively fit as I cycle to and from work daily, I needed some extra help to make improvements - especially as I had a recurrent back problem. I had recently taken up trapeze and wanted to build up core and upper body strength and lose some weight. Before I went to Natalie I was a complete stranger to the gym (other than to have a shower) but within the space of a few weeks I had lost nearly 2 stone in weight and 4 inches off of my waist. Natalie designed a training and diet program specifically tailored to meet my personal goals. I still use Natalie regularly as she continues to manage and monitor my progress. The good news is that I no longer have a back problem, my attitude to diet and exercise has changed completely and I have not put any of the weight back on.

Natalie’s approach to training is both professional and personal. Sessions can be hard work but working with Natalie has made them not only hugely rewarding but thoroughly enjoyable too.

It might sound cliched but it really is life changing stuff.
— Simon
 
Before - 2010

Before - 2010

After - 2013

After - 2013

 

After being deflated by less than adequate experiences with Gyms in the past, I conquered my intimidation fears and joined Fitness First. I was extremely fortunate to be introduced to Natalie Shanahan, who became my Personal Trainer. From day one Natalie’s professional commitment and enthusiasm in ensuring I succeed in achieving my goals has not waned.
To burn fat, gain muscle and define your body not only takes time and discipline but also requires expert knowledge of anatomy and physical wellbeing in order to gain maximum results. Natalie has these qualifications and qualities in abundance, coupled together with an amazing personality she’s a perfect recipe for success in fitness. Training 4 sessions a week has really paid dividends. With time and effort noticeable results were fast. My fitness level is the highest it’s ever been and I am so happy with the amazing physical results I have achieved under Natalie’s direction.
To feel good and look good I would recommend training with Natalie, however beware, training with Natalie is addictive.
— Alan

About ten months ago, I was at a very low point, both emotionally and physically, following bereavement and serious illness. I knew I should be exercising but even though I had been a regular gym user and had been quite fit, I was too sad and could no longer find the motivation to resume my fitness regime. I joined Fitness First in the hope that having easier access to a gym closer to work, rather than home, would encourage me to return to exercise. The starter package included several sessions with a Personal Trainer and I was lucky enough to be introduced to Natalie.
There was never going to be a quick fix to my particular problems but Natalie has worked tirelessly with me and helped to turn things around. I had gained weight during the preceding year and was also suffering from depression. After an initial assessment, Natalie devised a programme for me and through those first sessions, we started to get to know each other.
Although the programme was tough, it was, Natalie assured me, within my capabilities. However, without her support and encouragement, I would not have pushed myself to that level. I booked further sessions and continued to work hard with Natalie. In a matter of weeks, I had started to lose weight and was able to drop some of the medication, which was a huge boost. I was starting to feel much better!
As my training regime continues, Natalie regularly monitors and appraises my performance. She constantly changes the routine to keep it interesting and to target specific areas. In between the PT sessions, I attend a spin and a kettle bell class, both with Natalie.
It has to be said that although I’m a very regular attendee at the gym, I can think of other things that I’d rather be doing. My training sessions are tough – no question about it! However, between the grunts (from me) and groans (Natalie), there is a great deal of laughter and fun (both) and I’m often chuckling away to myself long after the session has finished.
If you’ve ever observed a punter with a heavy bet on the horses, frantically willing their horse to be the first across the finishing line, then you’ll have an indication of how enthusiastically Natalie encourages me to achieve / lift / pull / push / wills me to do whatever exercises has been set – and she can get quit vocal about this! Fortunately, for the most part, it works; to such an extent that even away from the gym, Natalie’s encouragement seems to filter through – for example, if I’m out on my cycle trying to climb a huge hill and I reach a point where I simply can’t go any further, suddenly I hear Natalie’s beseeching voice in my head (i.e. screaming at me!) “c’mon, you can do it!” – and I always do.
Natalie always rewards good behaviour and if I’ve done particularly well, I know I can look forward to at least 50 push-ups, which makes me laugh. Only Natalie can seriously offer 50 push-ups as a reward!

So, 10 months down the line my journey is not yet over but I’m feeling so much better and people tell me I look great. I’m lifting weights and achieving results that I would not have believed myself capable of. I’ve met several of Natalie’s other clients and its great to compare notes about our progress. One thing I’m sure we’d all agree on is that she really cares about us and we care about her and oftentimes push ourselves that bit harder because we don’t want to let her down.

Top Girl is our Natalie!
— Jacqueline

I have been attending spin classes hosted by Nat for a number of years now and can definitely say that she brings an awful lot to every class.
There is no formulaic, RPM style, approach to the structure of her sets and the introduction over time of extra weight work plus the “off the bike” element are just two things that make Nat’s classes stand out. By introducing new ways of working both on and off the bike they are so much more than the tedious, easy spin sessions in gyms everywhere.
Even though I regard myself as a regular cyclist I always find Nat’s classes a very solid workout during which I am able to push myself a lot further than I would do on my own. I definitely notice the work done in the class feeding through to my road bike ability and for those looking for some top end HR. work to compliment longer slower weekend rides this is the class to do.
My only complaint? Would love them to be longer!!
— Peter

I had the pleasure of training with Rich from winter 2010 to autumn 2012. Rich was recommended to me by a work colleague as he felt that his approach would best suit what I was looking for in a trainer.
I had a couple of fairly specific goals I wanted to achieve and Rich was more than happy to sit down with me and discuss what would be the best way to approach things and juggle sessions with him and my other more cardio based ones. Rich was always interested in what else I was doing in my other sessions and how the work I did with him could compliment and benefit my all round triathlon training.
His professional and calm attitude at all times helped me achieve those goals and more. In particular for those looking to lift heavier weights as part of a program, having someone such as Rich to instruct you is a “no brainer”. Without his guidance there was no way I would have taken on what I did and thanks to his experience I was, and still are, injury free.
I always found Rich to be very professional in both his attitude to clients and the way that he set about achieving the most from me during our time together and I would happily recommend him to those who are keen to go further and are happy to work hard to achieve their goals
— Peter

I have trained with Natalie for the past year and this turned out to be one of the best decisions I have ever made. I was exercising regularly before and considered myself physically as reasonably fit (the before picture was taken on the London to Paris cycleride). I was however getting slightly bored with my regime and did not seem to see any noticeable results. Natalie made me realise that I was capable of a lot more physically and at the same time introducing me to a diet which I was easily able to incorporate into my lifestyle. I went down from a dress size 16 to an 8 as well as getting physically much stronger.
If you are looking for a trainer to push you well above your limits, encourage you, generally caring about your progress as well as having fun, then Natalie is definitely the right person for you.
— Michaela
 
Michaela.jpg
 

I’ve spent my whole life struggling with my weight, and was a size 18 at my heaviest. After spending years battling on every diet going and despite going to step aerobics twice a week I could not get below a size 16.
18 months ago I decided to have one final effort to reach my dream of being a size 12, and decided to have some personal training sessions with Rich. I thought I’d be really conscious of working out in front of someone else but I found Rich really motivational and encouraging, and although he always pushed me really hard I enjoyed the sessions straight away. After six months I bought my first ever size 10 dress, but more importantly I felt so much happier and confident.
1 year on from that I’ve achieved exercise goals that I would never have thought possible like a sprint triathlon and a half marathon and despite now being happy with my weight I continue to train with Rich because I enjoy it so much.
— Geri
 
Before

Before

After

After

 

When I started going to the gym 2 years ago I weighed nearly 15 stone, was a size 18 and was very unfit. I would never have thought of entering any events or even believed that I could pick up a kettle bell.
I have been training with Rich for 18 months now and he has been brilliant at encouraging me and helping me achieve my goals.
I am now 4 1/2 stone lighter and a size 10. Last year I did the London to Brighton bike ride and my first sprint distance triathlon.
This year I have done a100 mile stage of the tour of Britain, the Dragon ride (80 miles up mountains in the Brecon Beacons) and the Olympic distance at the London triathlon. Oh and I can definitely pick up a kettle bell. I have just entered Iron man uk 2011 and signed up to do john O’Groats to Lands end on my bike.
I can honestly say anything is possible with the right encouragement from your trainer and confidence in yourself.
Don’t delay sign up for training and I’ll see you at Iron man UK!
— Jo
 
Before

Before

After

After

 
 

 
Before

Before

After

After

 

 
Before

Before

During

During

After

After

 

I have been training with Natalie for about 2 years now. I think she is one of the best in the business. Variety of exercises and her attitude encourages me to push myself even further. Over the 2 years I got stronger, faster and gave up a few bad habits! As an example Natalie and her colleagues organised a competition for their student - Heptathlon (Olympic Games) and I won Gold medal even though I was competing with some Personal Trainers from the gym!!!
— Dmitry

I trained with a number of Personal Trainers and in my opinion, Natalie is one of the best in the industry and has a very positive and charming personality. I trained with her for over two years and happily recommended her to my work colleagues and to my husband, who is still training with her. Natalie has an individual approach to every student’s physical training and a diet. Throughout the training with her I became much stronger, healthier and fitter, with a higher level of energy and an enthusiasm about the exercise. She taught me my favorite set of exercises with kettle bells and even tried to convince me to participate in the semi-professional competition. Also not only Natalie is the best Personal Trainer, she is the best spin class teacher, she pushes students beyond their limits and always introduces a great variety of exercises to keep everyone interested and fit. I highly recommend her!
— Malika

I started training with Richard after unsuccessfully trying to lose weight for several months.I was 104kg, 187cm to start, and after 3 months of training, I went down to 92kg. With Richard’s help, I managaged to lose about 7% of body fat, while increasing overall strength as well. The successful outcome was due to combining a good diet (which Richard helped me adjust and stick to) but most importantly a significant change to my training. Crucially, Richard helped me change my attitude and motivation for training and also made sure I was performing all exercises safely and efficiently. I would strongly recommend Richard to be able to help his clients push through their current self-imposed limits in a friendly and professional manner.
— Victor

Since I was diagnosed with inflammatory bowel disease almost 6 years ago, physical health is not longer something I can take for granted. For a few years I was shifting between being slightly overweight helped by side effects from the medication I was taking, or underweight due to the stomach sickness. I was in bad shape and had a hard time doing regular exercise.
I started to train with Natalie early 2008 and she got me to train in the right way and helped me push myself harder to achieve my goals. Since I started to train with her, I have improved my health and quality of life drastically. I first trained to get a better general fitness level, which culminated with me running a half marathon in early October 2010, something that I would never have dreamt of a few years ago. The training has helped immensely with my medical condition, which has caused me almost no problem since. After the half marathon I changed my goal to put on some more muscle, and with help of Natalie I changed my diet and training to reach this goal. The result has been instant and I have already put on 8kg of muscle, and feel better about myself than ever.
Natalie is great at helping you achieve your goals, motivating you, and also great fun to train with. I would recommend Natalie to anyone who wants help with motivation or achieving their goals, whether it is weight loss, muscle gain, getting toned, or just staying healthy!
— Gabriel
Before

Before

        After

        After


I have trained with Natalie for the past two years. I do a lot of running so it has been great to mix up running training with sessions with Nat to keep up my strength. I like the way she motivates me to do a much harder workout than I would otherwise do training alone. She provides variety and intensity while tailoring the session to what you want to work on. Nat has been great to work with and is also a lovely person. I would recommend her to anyone.
— Anneke

I’ve trained with Natalie since January 2007. When I started training with Natalie, my main aim was to improve my core stability so that I could manage a back injury that I got in 2006. When I first started training I was 83.5kg - slightly more than it should be - and had recently gone up to a 36-inch waist size. My back injury had given me a weak back and was significantly affecting my ability to play with my children. I felt physically like I was in my mid-50s, rather than the mid-30s that I actually was. Within six months of startting the training I felt significantly fitter. My core strength had improved significantly so that my back injury was far less painful than before, and I could be far more active. Additionally, although i was not aiming to lose weight through trainnig, I noticed my waist size decreasing, and my posture significantly improving.
By the end of 2007 my back injury was almost unnoticable. I was also seeing other benefits from the training, such as improved upper body strength and a generally better level of fitness, so I carried on training with Natalie.
Today (November 2010) I am still training regularly with Natalie. We still work on core stability to keep my back under control, but we have also worked on strengthening my shoulders and upper back in particular. I enjoy training with Natalie. Her particular forte is coming up with various different methods for exercising particular muscles. She is also very good at identifying the exercises that I tend to avoid when I am in the gym by myself, and making sure that I do them. Her style of (mostly) gentle persuasion make our training sessions enjoyable and fun, and also effective.
— Dan

In as little as 5 weeks Natalie has helped me break through a performance barrier. As a personal trainer she has an incredible talent to push you beyond any limit you have imagined for yourself. If you think you are good, she will make you better. If you think you are strong or fast – she will make you stronger, faster and fitter than you have ever been before. I am an endurance athlete, adventure racer and avid runner and have recently won a 7-day, 250km+ desert race through the Sahara. My next race is a 7-day desert epic in the Namib and after that I hope to do the Barcelona Iron Man. Now the sky is the limit.
— Erica

I have been doing weight training in one form or another since I was 18 (am 32 now) and while I managed to reach a decent fitness level, I never really got to where I wanted to be.
Since starting training with Natalie 1-2 times per week about 2 years ago, I’ve succeeded in reaching my goal weight of 90kg - started off at 80 - and by helping me out with different types of programmes, nutrition, and other tips and tricks, she has managed to keep it interesting and fun. Training with Natalie gives me motivation that can otherwise be easy to loose, both during our sessions together and the rest of the week when I’m training on my own. I would recommend her to anyone, whether they are just starting out, or they are already well into their training and need a boost to get to the next level.
— Johan

I’d definitely recommend Nat as a personal trainer. She had been my spin teacher for about three years and I always really enjoyed her enthusiasm and the fact that her classes were more fun than any other I’ve been too - even though they were much harder. Since she’s been training me my fitness and strength has improved massively. She’s great at tailoring a workout that works for you and will give you exercise and dietary advice (if you want it) that you can follow outside of the one-to-one sessions. Even though we’ve been training for a year, she continues to mix things up and keep it interesting. From kettle bells, to hula hooping to headstands. It’s always a tough work out - but its always lots of fun too.
— Laura

Prior to training with Natalie Shanahan, I thought I was in top-notch condition. I’ve been a high performance athlete for over a decade, competing at the national and international levels across three sports. Through Natalie, who provided a very professional programme and added motivation, I definitely found another ‘gear’ in my training. Her expertise and full-spectrum approach to training made me comfortable pushing myself to reach new personal bests. I’m now in the best shape of my life and it’s definitely paying dividends in competition.
— Rich

A session with Nat is always tough and challenging but never so bad that you dread your next session. I have had severe problems with my back in the past and Nat has helped me to build up my strength significantly.
— Stuart

I made an appointment to see Natalie as I wanted to reduce the size of my arms and generally slim down for my wedding in August 2010.
I wasn’t interested in just loosing weight, I wanted definition too. I decided to keep a little book which I would write in weekly listing my weight, the size of my arms, waist, thighs etc. This was good for me because although I may lose two inches of fat off my arms, I may gain an inch in muscle and we all know which one looks better!
Not being the most dedicated of clients, with Natalie’s help having one-on-one training once a week and a proposed diet, my body was more toned than it would have been had I not had Natalie’s assistance. I also lost 8lbs in total and my BMI went down too.
I was very happy with the results achieved and felt amazing on my wedding day and in a bikini on holiday.
I would thoroughly recommend Natalie. She is very determined and really enjoys the work she does and takes great pride in the end results whether that may be helping someone loose weight, tone muscle or general increase in fitness.
— Tracy

I have been a member of Fitness First for a number of years and generally have stuck to the same few weights routines, with the goal of building muscle mass and losing body fat. Although I have made improvements on my own in gaining mass, I could never shift the tyre around my waist.
My diet was very strict and I had read plenty of books telling me what to eat and how to workout, but I could never get much improvement when it came to fat loss. I was aware of Natalie’s work ethic of “you get out what you put in” so we had an initial chat, and she instructed me on how I could change my diet, making it less strict, and what minerals I might be deficient in.
So after just 1 month of following her diet and training with her, my body fat has come down by 6% (I was 24% before, now just under 18%). I have definition in muscles that I didn’t have before and have lost fat on my waist after just 1 month of following her program! This is something I was constantly failing to do for years on my own. We now sometimes train together and I have always joked with her, calling her a robot, but if you see this girl in action you will not believe what she is capable of.
I’m sure there are other good personal trainers out there, but I personally would not use anyone else after training with Natalie. She is a true professional.
— Ioannis

I asked Natalie to take me on as a client because I’d seen from taking her spin classes that she would do the things I wanted from a trainer – bring more focus to my workouts, and make me work harder than I do on my own. I didn’t have a big weight loss target but I did want to tone up and get more definition in classic areas like upper arms and lower abs. After just a few sessions I already felt stronger and fitter. Soon after that I (and other people) really started to notice a visible difference, especially in those target areas. And when I told her I had started training for my first marathon she adapted my programme to focus on strength, power and endurance for that. Not quite sure how she does it, especially when (don’t tell her) I sometimes forget the dietary part of my programme, but it works!
— Heather

Mortal Peril is the best fitness class I have ever done. It’s fantastic in that it combines high intensity aerobic and strength work but the real difference from other classes is Natalie who always manages to push you to your max and constantly innovates to keep sessions fresh.
— John

After having met Natalie at one of her spin classes, I thought she would be the right PT for me - tough and determined, hard-working but also a nice person who I would enjoy training with - . 2 years on from that day and I am still working with Natalie (up to 3X a week) and I can’t speak highly enough of her. Great personality, intelligent, friendly, tailor-made training methods and the results that I achieved with her being my PT are beyond believe. Everyone needs a great motivator and without being a shouting drill-sergeant (kind off!!) Natalie makes you achieve all of your goals with a passion and love for her job that is rare to find nowadays. With Natalie you get the all-in-one package, a tough but fair PT, a good friend, a good listener, a life coach, a psychologist but foremost someone who really understands her clients’ character, needs and capabilities, not to mention her in depth understanding of our physiology and nutritional needs and advice that go hand in hand with the training to achieve your goals. Natalie is an exceptionally bright personal trainer and above all a very nice person with whom you’ll achieve results beyond believe in a nice, pleasant and friendly atmosphere.
— Sven

I booked a 12 week program with Natalie for the period leading up to my wedding and I was really impressed with the results. I had a 45 minute session once a week but Natalie would also devise programs for me to follow on other days of the week - she emailed me most days telling what I should be doing in the gym each time I went which was really motivating! I work quite long hours but the programs were designed to have the maximum effect without spending hours in the gym! Natalie also gave me advice on food and nutrition and I kept a food diary which we would review each week.
My aim was to lose some weight but also to really tone up, particularly my upper body. I started to see results within about 4 weeks and Natalie regularly changed my program so that I didn’t get bored. It was hard work at times but Natalie was a great motivator and I didn’t ever feel like giving up! I was really really pleased with the results - especially on my wedding day! I’d definitely recommend a course of Natalie’s personal training sessions!
— Alish

I have been training with Natalie only a few weeks and can feel and see the difference already. Natalie is a good listener and understands the personality and goals of her clients very well. This allows her to create a truly tailor-made programme which is always challenging and testing your limits but also fun. She is genuinely interested in her clients’ progress and will give you her full attention during the training session. In addition, she has managed to nudge me into eating even more vegetables. I very much enjoy training with her and can thoroughly recommend her.
— Susanne